The Senate of the University of Prince Edward Island is constituted as follows:

Ex Officio

  • Alaa Abd-El-Aziz, BSc, MSc, PhD – President
  • Jackie Podger, BA, MA, MIR, CMA –?Vice-President, Administration and Finance
  • Kathy Gottschall-Pass, BSc, PhD – Interim Vice-President, Academic and Research?
  • Donna Sutton, BSc, MEd – Associate Vice-President of Students and Registrar
  • James Moran, BA, MA, PhD – Interim Dean of Arts
  • Nola Etkin,?BSc, PhD, –?Interim Dean of Science
  • Ron MacDonald, BSc, BEd, MEd, PhD – Dean of Education
  • Juergen Krause, MSc, PhD?–?Dean of Business
  • Greg Keefe, BSc, DVM, MSc?–?Dean of Veterinary Medicine
  • Jo-Ann MacDonald, BScN, MN, PhD?– Interim?Dean of Nursing
  • Hammell, Larry, BSc, DVM (Guelph), MSc – Dean, Graduate Studies
  • Krouglicof, Nicholas, PEng, PhD – Dean of Sustainable Design Engineering
  • Donald Moses, MLIS?– University Librarian
  • Will McGuigan?–?President of Student Union?

Alumni Representative

  • Corey Stevenson (2020)

Board Representative

  • Bertha Campbell (2020)


  • Margaret Doyle (MAPUS) 2019?
  • Keyshawn Bonamy (2020)
  • Emma Drake (2019)?
  • 500 Internal Server Error

    Internal Server Error

    The server encountered an internal error and was unable to complete your request. Either the server is overloaded or there is an error in the application.

  • Scott Grant (2020)?
  • Rachel Kays (2019)

Elected by the Teaching Faculty

Term expires 30 June 2019

  • Bill Waterman, CPA, CMA, MBA – Business
  • Collins Kamunde, BVM, MSc, PhD – Biomedical Sciences, AVC
  • Ann Braithwaite, BA, MA, PhD – Diversity & Social Justice Studies, Arts?
  • Carolyn Thorne, BEd, BPE, MEd, PhD – Education?
  • Christina Murray, BA, BScN, MN, PhD – Nursing

Term expires 30 June 2020

  • Greg Irvine, BMus, MMUS, DM – Music, Arts
  • Rabin Bissessur, BSc, MSc, PhD – Chemistry, Science
  • Richard Raiswell, BA, MA, PhD – History, Arts
  • John McIntyre, BA, PhD – English, ARTS
  • Amy Hsiao, BS, MS, PhD, MBA – Engineering (Faculty at Large), Science?
  • Amy MacFarlane, BBA, CA - Business (Faculty at Large), Business

Term expires 30 June 2021

  • Melanie Buote, BSc (Hon), DVM, DACVP, PhD – Path/Micro, AVC
  • Doreley Coll, BA, MA, PhD - Modern Languages, Arts
  • Etienne C?té, BSc, DVM, Diplomate ACVIM & ACVIM (Cardiology), Companion Animals, AVC?
  • Doug Dahn, BSc, MSc, PhD – Physics, Science?
  • Robert Dennis, BA, MA (Memorial), MA (UNB), PhD - Religious Studies, Arts
  • Louis Doiron, BSc – Math & Computational Sciences, Science
  • Adam Fenech, BA (Hons), MES, PhD – Biology/Environmental Studies, Science
  • Luke Heider, DVM, PhD, Health Management, AVC
  • James Moran, BA, MA, PhD – History (Faculty at Large), Arts
  • Malcolm Murray, BA, MA, PhD – Philosophy, Arts
  • Cathy Ryan, BSc, MA, PhD – Psychology, Arts


  • Michael Arfken –?Interim President, UPEI FA Association

Read the archive of past Senate meeting minutes